PDA

View Full Version : 5-6 Day Hike, Late May?

pokes91
01-24-2014, 21:46
Hi there! I'm a rookie backpacker/hiker and I've been reading WhiteBlaze for some time now in anticipation of one day being able to hike the AT. I recently moved to Raleigh, NC from OK and plan on taking full advantage of the proximity to the trail.

That being said, a few of my buddies and I are wanting to take a trip the last week of May 2014. I'm thinking Hot Springs to Erwin. This would be the first time for all of us so is this too ambitious for a Saturday morning to Wednesday/Thursday hike? If so, could y'all throw out some suggestions for other North Carolina sections that would be more appropriate?

Our time in the area will be from Saturday to Saturday but we also want to be able to spend a day or so in Asheville and kayaking.

Any and all help will be greatly appreciated!

HighLiner
01-24-2014, 21:56
That section is good, but not enough miles for a week. Consider the AT in the Smokey Mountains National Park; 69 miles of remote packing at high elevations. That trip would give you a great feel for what the trail is all about. Good luck.

saltysack
01-24-2014, 22:35
603 south to Damascus is my favorite section in the southern states. 40 miles easy shuttle from MRO and only a few hrs from Raleigh. Grayson highlands and several other awesome Areas on this hike..lots of ponies...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)

map man
01-24-2014, 22:50
I'm thinking Hot Springs to Erwin. This would be the first time for all of us so is this too ambitious for a Saturday morning to Wednesday/Thursday hike? If so, could y'all throw out some suggestions for other North Carolina sections that would be more appropriate?