PDA

View Full Version : I'm an outdoor writer hoping to write about 2014 thrus

jhodgson
01-29-2014, 15:41
Hi there. I'm James Hodgson (http://jimhodgson.com), an outdoor humorist. I write for a couple of outlets, in this case for Tripleblaze (http://tripleblaze.com) hiking and backpacking blog, based in Decatur, GA. I live in Atlanta.

I'd like to connect with some thrus heading out from Springer this spring, especially any who intend to use the Hiker Hostel's excellent shuttle service from Atlanta. I reached out to the Hiker Hostel as well as to the people who run this forum, so they know I'm posting about this.

I'd love it if I could join up with some folks heading to the AT, then spend the first night or two with them on the trail. As you go along, we'd love to hear from you as well, and we'd be happy to post links to your blog or twitter account if you are using those.

Let me know if you're interested, or know someone who is. You can post any questions right here, I'll be watching the thread. Thanks!

Hill Ape
01-29-2014, 16:38
is tim porter involved?

jhodgson
01-29-2014, 16:42
I can't say I know Tim Porter.

Hill Ape
01-29-2014, 17:54
likely answer, obviously you've been brainwashed, sworn to secrecy, and forced to eat paste.... meet at the brick for drinks :::winkwink:::

Slo-go'en
01-29-2014, 18:08
Why not just show up at the hostel? It should be a full house pretty much every day from the middle of March until the middle of April. You can hike out with 15-20 of your newist, closest friends. No doubt there will be more then a few willing to help you out.

jhodgson
01-29-2014, 18:48
I could. Just seemed like a good idea to post here about it. I read this board a lot when I was considering a thru.

jhodgson
01-30-2014, 10:05
I looked up Tim Porter. I guess you mean the guy at Paste?

I submitted a few things to them but never got a reply, let alone published. Oh well.