PDA

View Full Version : People joining you on the trail?

Aussie_donkey
02-03-2014, 06:26
Hi guys, I've got a few questions about some logistics. I'm planning on going NOBO this year and my mother wants to fly over and walk with me for about 5weeks. I'm starting the trail in early March and she was thinking about meeting up in late April/early May. She's flexible with dates etc but we can't work out how to get to the trail. Which airport should she fly to (coming from Australia)? I know there is a train to Harper's Ferry but it seems quite infrequent. And is there a particularly mum-friendly area of the trail? She's not a total novice but she is getting older (and so are her knees). Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Bobby
02-03-2014, 07:21
Hi guys, I've got a few questions about some logistics. I'm planning on going NOBO this year and my mother wants to fly over and walk with me for about 5weeks. I'm starting the trail in early March and she was thinking about meeting up in late April/early May. She's flexible with dates etc but we can't work out how to get to the trail. Which airport should she fly to (coming from Australia)? I know there is a train to Harper's Ferry but it seems quite infrequent. And is there a particularly mum-friendly area of the trail? She's not a total novice but she is getting older (and so are her knees). Any advice is greatly appreciated!

It can be hard when people join you on the trail. You have already spent a fair amount of time getting your trail legs, and they have not. If you can push the dates back, I would recommend more of a summer trip in the mid Atlantic region. The weather will be more forgiving as will the trail miles. leaving from Harper's Ferry would probably work out OK. Once you start hiking you will have a better idea when you will actually be in that area - your hiking style, miles per day, etc.... will become more obvious.