PDA

View Full Version : Lookin for load out advice...

Gus9890
02-07-2014, 16:49
This is my first time on the AT. I plan on starting in March, doing a ultralight NOBO yo-yo with staying away from towns as much as possible. (Except for PA, I got family in York). I plan on doing it 4-5 weeks one way (I'm 6'7" and naturally hike at a quick pace). I grew up in the woods, I was in Scouts, and I'm military so I'm not worried about comfort and I know things don't always go according to plan. This is the basic load plan for my backpack I've put together (not counting batteries, water purification, food, etc). I'm looking for advice, tweaks, pointers, etc. because I know everyone loads out differently. Thank you very much.

In Back pack:

-Army Boonie hat, Army Shemagh, Fleece PT/skull cap
-Cold-Weather UnderArmor top, moisture wicking t-shirts (3)
-Fleece top
-Wool socks/moisture wicking socks (3 pr each)
-Sneakers (1 pr)
-Nylon Suplex/Polyester Wind top and pants
-Polyvinyl/Polyester rain top and bottom
-Camleback
-Fleece blanket
-Army poncho/shelter half (2)
-PT/ground mat

Meriadoc
02-07-2014, 17:33
I'll assume you meant 4-5 months.

Rule of thumb for clothing: All of it can be worn at the same time and when it is coldest, all of it is indeed worn at the same time. If there is more than that, then there is excess. (Exception cut out for socks and underwear.)

-Army Boonie hat, Army Shemagh, Fleece PT/skull cap - Can you wear all three at the same time? Are all three needed? I would drop one of them for sure.
-Cold-Weather UnderArmor top, moisture wicking t-shirts (3) Why three wicking t-shirts? I would use the cold weather base layer until it warms up and then use one wicking t shirt. I would not carry four shirts.
-Fleece top