PDA

View Full Version : Help me find the right footwear please!

Skip2myLucas
02-09-2014, 17:05
I'm looking to purchase some shoes/boots for my first long distance backpacking trip. I'm brand new to the hiking scene so I would love some feedback from you seasoned veterans.

Will be hiking the Superior Hiking Trail in MN mid may, so thinking something waterproof. It will be around 200 miles long and we are hoping to cover this distance in about 11/12 days.

Ankle mobility: With the help of a friend, who works as physical fitness trainer, we've been able to kind of self diagnosis that I have less than desirable ankle mobility. Gets tight around my lower calf/Achilles area when I run on roads or sidewalks. I believe it has to do with the lack of support from a pair of Nike frees I usually wear. So I believe I'm looking for a shoe with more structure and support...?

I'd appreciate your input!

Skip2myLucas
02-09-2014, 17:14
Also, is there a good place to get fitted? Or would it be advisable to get my "foot analysis"? have heard a little about this.

Turk6177
02-09-2014, 21:13