PDA

View Full Version : Umbrella?

elray
02-16-2014, 12:51
I've been sectioning for the last fifteen years and have only seen a couple of umbrellas and one of those was home made. Who carries one?

Hill Ape
02-16-2014, 13:02
grandma gatewood, if it was good enough for her, who am i to question

Deadeye
02-16-2014, 13:04
I do. Depending on the circumstances, it can make a miserable day much more comfortable. I find it particularly useful in warm weather, conditions when showers pop up then disappear. It also helps your w/b raingear function better by helping the fabric not wet out. Essential gear IMO, YMMV.

4eyedbuzzard
02-16-2014, 13:21
I found that even at 5 or 6 oz for a UL one, they could be a PIA if there was above a light wind or if there were any branches to snag on. It also ties up one of your hands if you use poles and you can at times get tired holding it. But in a steady rain they will keep you dryer. I tried a Go Lite brand one a couple of times, it's honestly now part of my "city travel gear". But others find them useful, and I admit that I always have one with me on the golf course. One of those some find them useful, others don't items.

Colter
02-16-2014, 13:45
The only time I've carried an umbrella was in some of the hottest parts of the Desert Trail, and found it to be worthwhile.

Otherwise, they are not a good fit for the way I hike. I see a lot more enthusiasm for umbrellas on the forums than I do on the trails. That said, there are definitely people for whom umbrellas work well.

kennyxedge
02-16-2014, 13:48
A guy I hiked with a couple years ago had one at the start, we dubbed him 'Mary Poppins'. I don't remember exactly when he ditched it, but it was before Damascus.

dmax
02-16-2014, 13:55
I've carried one for years. There are ways to attach to your pack so you can hike hands free, except during the hardest of winds.

chiefduffy
02-16-2014, 15:34