PDA

View Full Version : Irrational Fears

devil dog
03-02-2014, 00:04
Hey everyone, Kinda new here, however I've been hanging around for a while reading ... Although I have lots of experience with going backpacking and being outdoors alone, I can't seem to get over one of my most frustrating fears. Its totally irrational, and has always driven me nuts! Its my fear of running into other people (that may do harm in some way). Whether hiking my local trails or backpacking for three nights. My family thinks me nuts, as I am in the woods on a daily basis either hiking, mtn biking, snowshoeing or otherwise (so it is not debilitating) ... I am dying to know what other think, and what other people fear irrationally, and/or if some others have the same fear, while out in the woods... Take care everyone!

Feral Bill
03-02-2014, 00:09
For they particular fear, you might try ditching your TV.

gypsy97
03-02-2014, 01:10
I'm a little nervous at the thought of who or what I might encounter, but I think I'm way more afraid of mountain lions.

kayak karl
03-02-2014, 01:13
i have had the rangers call on me 5 times. homeless guy with dog in living in woods. most people are standoffish till they get to know me. do you have this problem on city streets too?

Sarcasm the elf
03-02-2014, 01:27
I'm a little nervous at the thought of who or what I might encounter, but I think I'm way more afraid of mountain lions.

I was going to say that fear of cougars is totally irrational, until I saw that you live in CA.

On the east coast I still have a slightly irrational fear of encountering a pack of coyotes solo or a particularly confrontational whitetail buck during the peak of the rut (seriously, the horny bastards will confront you and refuse to back down, I've had to veer off trail to walk around them on occasion). I've never encountered a moose, but supposedly they're just as bad and 8 times the size of the deer.

2015 Lady Thru-Hiker
03-02-2014, 01:42