PDA

View Full Version : Hiking the trail for charity...

CharlieMike
03-06-2014, 14:35
I'm a combat veteran doing the entire trail for the Wounded Warriors Project for obvious reasons and the Ovarian Cancer Research Fund in memory of my Mom. Check out the site below to see how it's interactive and fun to watch. Can't wait to hit the trail in July!

http://www.operationcharliemike.com/

Starchild
03-06-2014, 15:45
July? AT? Thru? :confused:

Mags
03-06-2014, 15:50
July 1st going SoBo would work well (Which is what he is doing). A 4 month hike has you finishing by Nov 1st.

I did the CDT with this schedule FWIW. The AT is both shorter and logistically easier than the CDT.

A young, in shape guy who is motivated can do a 4 month hike without too much issue.

Slo-go'en
03-06-2014, 16:19
It's getting to the point where every other thru hiker is hiking for some cause or charity.

Texaco
03-06-2014, 16:47
It's getting to the point where every other thru hiker is hiking for some cause or charity.

When I rode my bicycle across the United States in '07, I raised $11,000 for juvenile cancer research. It was a tribute to my grandmother who had liver, lung, and breast cancer, and who ended up dying when I was halfway across the country. I didn't do the ride to raise money. I didn't do the ride for cancer. I did the ride because I love adventures. Along the way, people who live vicariously through large scale adventures would often ask what they could do to help. I saw it as a way to raise money for something that was important to me and my family without asking people point blank. If they asked, I told them.

HYOH is applicable here. It's not a 3-mile walk around a local lake to raise money with 6,000 other people. It's an incredible journey that is physically and emotionally demanding. It's a life goal of many, achieved by few. If the guy wants to piggyback an important cause with his trip, I say good on him, and wish him luck.

IMHO, of course.

WingedMonkey