PDA

View Full Version : Women ultra runners any advice helpful!

Sunshine82
03-11-2014, 10:20
I am pretty new to trail running but am use to very high miles backpacking ,I have gotten my long training run to 15 miles and am hoping to run an ultra in the fall of 2016.any training or nutrition advice?

Malto
03-11-2014, 10:32
I'm not sure you ask specifically for women advice. That is going to limit your responses considerably.

Sunshine82
03-11-2014, 10:40
Any advice is helpful

slbirdnerd
03-11-2014, 11:53
From your title, I thought you were looking for advice on trail running shoes. You might consider a title more related to what you're looking for, and like Malto says, gender- non-specific. Just a suggestion.

Malto
03-11-2014, 13:24
On nutrition I would start here. This is a mix of science and marketing spin but I have found this to be the best single source of information regarding endurance nutrition. Unfortunately I learned many lessons the hard way before finding this information. While these products will work, I also found much less expensive recipes to make, fueling, recovery and electrolyte products myself. But it is still based roughly on this info. Good luck.

http://www.hammernutrition.com/knowledge/essential-knowledge/

Spirit Walker
03-11-2014, 21:16
Go to Runnersworld.com - there is an ultra runners subforum there and a fair number of people in the 'beginners' forum as well. Probably also at Runningahead.com, but it can be hard to find the subforums sometimes.

Mobius
03-11-2014, 22:43
What distance are you thinking for your ultra? Nutrition would change a lot between, say, a 50K, 100 miler, and a 6-day.

Be aware that nutrition is highly individual. It's important to try whatever you're gonna do in training. Or just wing it and eat whatever looks good at the aid station!

Sunshine82
03-11-2014, 23:18
Ill probably start with a 50 k.

Mobius
03-12-2014, 06:48