PDA

View Full Version : dumb Reflectix question

sierraDoug
09-15-2005, 00:55
So I go and buy some Reflectix to make a pot cozy. After I start cutting it up I wonder why it only has foil on one side. I go the Reflectix website and they've got it with foil on one side, on both sides, and double bubble thickness each way. (Mine is single bubble.)

So I ask all you experts, if I put the foil on the outside so it will do a good job of reflecting the radiant heat from the pot... will the white plastic on the inside melt or otherwise be a problem?

Thanks mucho.

hiker5
09-15-2005, 09:25
I'm no expert, but I would think your best bet would be to keep the reflective side on the inside of your cozy. If you put it on the outside (and we assume it is the reflective part of the material that is providing the benifit with regards to radiant heat transfer) the heat from your pot would have to travel through the rest of the cozy material before being reflected back. So more of your radiant heat energy is being use to heat the cozy instead of being reflected back to your pot.

I also think that the reflective material on the outside would speed the convective heat transfer from your cozy to the air. Sort of like a heat sink.

The only possible negative effect I can see with putting the reflective side on the inside of your cozy, is the fact that if the pot is sitting on the reflective material, it may be conducting heat away from the pot faster than it would otherwise. The conduction can be minimized by leaving a small air gap between the cozy and the pot. A relaxed fit if you will. Also, the bottom surface that must contact the pot could be covered with something to reduce the heat loss through that surface.