PDA

View Full Version : dehydrating/sealer help

Ice Pick
03-13-2014, 12:19
I've been using this vacuum sealer for my dehydrated food. http://www.walmart.com/ip/FoodSaver-FreshSaver-Handheld-Vacuum-System/15777783 Been having trouble with some of the bags taking on air after sealing. I thought it was the rough places on my beef jerky strips poking through the bag. But I also have a bag of dried apples that took on air. Are the bags just not durable enough? Could it also have something to do with freezing my food when it is still warm? Maybe that's a dumb question. I'm new at this.

Do I really even need to seal my food if I'm storing it in the freezer and eating it within a few weeks of taking it out? I'd rather not buy an expensive sealer right now.

The Old Boot
03-13-2014, 12:51
I've been using this vacuum sealer for my dehydrated food. http://www.walmart.com/ip/FoodSaver-FreshSaver-Handheld-Vacuum-System/15777783 Been having trouble with some of the bags taking on air after sealing. I thought it was the rough places on my beef jerky strips poking through the bag. But I also have a bag of dried apples that took on air. Are the bags just not durable enough? Could it also have something to do with freezing my food when it is still warm? Maybe that's a dumb question. I'm new at this.

Do I really even need to seal my food if I'm storing it in the freezer and eating it within a few weeks of taking it out? I'd rather not buy an expensive sealer right now.

It could very well be the food saver unit that you're using. I have a Seal-A-Meal that has never failed me yet but it's considerably more expensive a unit than the one you're using.