PDA

View Full Version : BMT vs Pinhoti

tagg
03-18-2014, 14:38
For those of you who have hiked both, which would you recommend? Although I'd love to get out more often, life currently only allows me a few weeks each year. I've been chipping away at the AT each spring for a few years now, and will have finished about 700 miles after my next section in May. But at only around 200 miles per trip, it's going to be a while until I'm standing on Katahdin. So I decided to start hiking other (shorter) trails each fall in order to experience the gratification of actually finishing one, and last year I started with the Foothills Trail. This fall, I plan to do either the BMT or the Pinhoti Trail, but I can't decide on which. Anyone want to try to sell me on one or the other?

10-K
03-18-2014, 16:07
I've hiked both and they're very different hikes.

The Alabama Pinhoti is a low altitude mountain hike on well blazed and maintained trail. Water sources, camping and resupply are pretty simple and straightforward. It's an easy hike I'd recommend to anyone.

The BMT is a bit more challenging, both in terms of terrain and navigation as well as resupply. You have to pay attention, particularly after you leave Georgia. It's not difficult and most anyone could hike it but it has a wilder feel (for lack of a better word). I don't think you have to have a ton of experience to thru hike the BMT but it's not a beginner hike either.

You'd probably see more people on the Pinhoti but neither struck me as busy. If you want a challenge, hike the BMT. If you want to hike, cruise along, and zone out - hike the Pinhoti would be my recommendation. You wouldn't go wrong with either.

The Georgia Pinhoti is a patchwork of connected trails, forest roads, paved roads, and rail-trails linked together that runs from Cave Spring to the northern terminus at the BMT. It's a piece of work....

The Solemates
03-19-2014, 13:12