PDA

View Full Version : The greatest jerky on the planet-

Just Bill
03-18-2014, 16:51
I have been eating this stuff for over twenty years, they've been making it since 1886. It is hands down the best jerky around. Why?- it's dried steak. Not ground and pressed, or shredded- but huge slabs of meat cut, smoked and up to one inch thick. Not only does it taste good but is easily the closest substitute to fresh meat on the trail.

The Jerky- (no more WHEY)
Although they don't have nutritional info Mike Held has told me it takes about 3-4 pounds of fresh to make a pound of Jerky. A three ounce serving of lean beef has roughly 22g of protein. While I know this math is a bit fuzzy and you lose a little in the process- an ounce of their jerky should be roughly equal. (Jack Links and other common junk has 15g)

The point being- an ounce of Whey Protein has 25g. Would you rather eat an ounce of jerky or choke down an ounce of powder? NO MORE WHEY for me. I'll take 2.5 ounces of jerky- the equivalent of an 8 ounce steak instead and 50g of protein instead. (Not sure why I never did this math before….)

https://heldsmarket.com/ Held's Meat Market is in the small town of Slinger Wisconsin, about 45 minutes northwest of Milwaukee and pretty far outta the way. My Dad found it one day as an over the road salesman and we've been buying several hundred dollars at a crack whenever we drove by. Truck drivers and many other folks do as well and it's generally a well kept secret.