PDA

View Full Version : Newbie - Gear OVERLOAD!

CynJ
09-16-2005, 10:06
I am new to backbacking (do alot of day hiking though) and I have been doing a lot of reading on gear and tips et cetera. I think I have gone into gear overload! :eek:

I have my list of what I need - and its pretty basic (matches a lot of the packing lists I have seen) - so my question is: when choosing my gear do I really really need that brand-named xyz (which generally carries a brand-name price tag with it) or will something less expensive do the same job?

For example (keep in mind I am 5"2" so this will work for me size wise) there is a little tent at Walmart http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.gsp?product_id=2041899 for $14.00. I went and checked it out at the store and its really not bad. and if you ditch the cardboard around it and the heavy canvas tote sack it will weigh about 2.5lbs.

Am I nuts to think that this will be good enough for starter tent? I will be hiking/camping for a week or two at a time in the spring and fall.

I have already settled on either making (will try first-I am pretty handy) or buying an alcohol stove. Very ecomonical - fuel wise as well.

I intend to purchase a couple of items of exceptional quality - one being my boots, two being my pack. A decent sleeping bag and pad too - maybe not top of the line but not ecomony.

I'm just feeling a little overwhelmed by the amount of gear out there. And I have visited a couple local outfitters and they all have differing opinions about what is good. lol I'm glad I have read the reviews on backpackgeartest.com

Any thoughts for a thoroughly confused newbie? :confused:

Lanthar Mandragoran
09-16-2005, 10:39
The only thing about that tent is that I would wonder about it's weatherproofness... of course you'll never know unless you try it, and... well... 15$ is dirt cheap to try...

Doctari
09-16-2005, 10:40
You may be nuts, but not for your gear choices :)