PDA

View Full Version : Disposable cameras for the trail

CHRISTINE2015
03-21-2014, 16:21
I am considering going old school and using disposable cameras on the trail. The idea being that I can send them in my mail drops and each time I pick one up, I can send the full one home to my parents, so they can see what I've been up to. Does anyone have any suggestions as to quality disposable cameras for a reasonable price, that would be good for outdoor lighting. I'm not a photography expert!

Slo-go'en
03-21-2014, 16:35
Don't do it. The picture quality is poor, it will get very expensive and you'll have to be very selective in what you take a picture of or you'll use up your 26 shots real quick.

Even an inexpensive digital camara will produce much higher quality pictures and you can effectively take an unlimited number of shots. Get a few 2 gig memory cards which are cheap and send one home every so often. Once you review all the pictures, you can have the best ones printed out to hang on the wall later if you like.

Weather-man
03-21-2014, 16:44
Smart phone and set up an Instagram account. Even if you don't have a signal on the trail you most likely will in town or you'll be able to ht a hot spot. Much more elegant solution, IMHO.

maptester
03-21-2014, 16:48
My son used an inexpensive Tracfone (a slider Samsung feature phone) to take photos and send them back to us, plus he would call and update us on his hike. Fairly good coverage and battery life, he would turn it off if not using it. Nothing like getting a photo/email of your son on Saddleback Jr in the middle of the morning while you are working. Recommended.

Damn Yankee
03-21-2014, 16:54