PDA

View Full Version : Larger than a Tarptent Sublite

Jim Lynch
04-07-2014, 12:34
I've been using a Sublite for a few years now. I'm getting to the point where, as much as I like it, I'd like to consider something larger. The Sublite is a one person tent, single wall, weighing about 22 ounces. Any thoughts about a larger tent? Obviously I enjoy the light weight of the Sublite so sort of have a working limit of 32 ounces for a replacement.
Thnx!

Venchka
04-07-2014, 14:08
Anything else in the TarpTent catalog that floats your boat and fits your weight criteria. I can think of several that meet the 32 ounce (+ or - a couple ounces). Interesting. The weight for the StratoSpires increased 2-3 ounces. No worries. They have the most protected space for their weight in the TarpTent catalog.
Happy shopping.

Wayne

Jim Lynch
04-07-2014, 14:31
Thanks. I've looked at the Tarptent selections and there are several good choices, including the StratoSpires that you mention. I was really looking for more personal experiences with the tents.

Venchka
04-07-2014, 14:41
Search TarpTent here at Whiteblaze. You will find a lot of reading material.
Side entry and vestibule works better than the end entry of your Sublite. Two side entries and corresponding vestibules work even better.
A full rectangular tub floor works better than a floor that tapers.
How much bad weather do you usually encounter? Any? Some? Lots? Do you often find yourself in gale force winds & horizontal precipitation?
After that, it comes down to personal preference, budget and self-imposed weight constraint.
Good luck.

Jim Lynch
04-07-2014, 14:56