PDA

View Full Version : Harper's Ferry to....?

MountainsCalling
04-10-2014, 11:40
Hey everyone! I'm an enthusiastic newbie here on WhiteBlaze, but my time has finally come to see some of the AT with my own eyes.

My wife and I are planning a 4 day section hike at the end of May, and we're planning on starting in Harper's Ferry, WV. We're both in good shape, but certainly not marathon runners. I'd imagine our pace would be between 7-10 miles per day as this will be my wife's first time backpacking (she's done plenty of hiking and camping, though).

Would it be wise to park the car at Harper's Ferry National Historical Park, and hike North? If so, what would the best way be to get back to the car on the last day?

Thanks much!

MDSection12
04-10-2014, 11:50
Hey everyone! I'm an enthusiastic newbie here on WhiteBlaze, but my time has finally come to see some of the AT with my own eyes.

My wife and I are planning a 4 day section hike at the end of May, and we're planning on starting in Harper's Ferry, WV. We're both in good shape, but certainly not marathon runners. I'd imagine our pace would be between 7-10 miles per day as this will be my wife's first time backpacking (she's done plenty of hiking and camping, though).

Would it be wise to park the car at Harper's Ferry National Historical Park, and hike North? If so, what would the best way be to get back to the car on the last day?

Thanks much!
I would recommend heading north for one simple reason; you can cross a state off your list! Your schedule should make all of MD a fairly easy hike. Lots of history, a few good overlooks and even a fine dining experience (Old South Mountain Inn, near halfway) can be had. :)

I might suggest starting at the PA border instead though, simply because then your hike ends in Harper's Ferry where you can celebrate with a nice meal at any number of hiker-friendly places.