PDA

View Full Version : Golite poncho tarp????

saltysack
04-10-2014, 15:06
Currently trying to lighten up my load for summer trips on southern AT and hopefully a JMT thru late summer..currently use an Easton kilo 2 person that weights around 2 lbs. like the price and weight of the poncho tarp...any users feedback for shelter? I'm a newbie to tarps...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Rolls Kanardly
04-10-2014, 15:11
Currently trying to lighten up my load for summer trips on southern AT and hopefully a JMT thru late summer..currently use an Easton kilo 2 person that weights around 2 lbs. like the price and weight of the poncho tarp...any users feedback for shelter? I'm a newbie to tarps...

What are you putting underneath the tarp? REI has a special on hammocks and 20% off if you are a member.
1 pound 2 ounce and some interesting colors. Rolls

saltysack
04-10-2014, 15:12
Poncho for rain and tarp for sleep shelter

daddytwosticks
04-10-2014, 15:45
You may get wet while sleeping under that poncho tarp. I use a Meteor Bug Bivy under an MLD Pro poncho during the summer down here. I tend to stay in shelters that time of year because they are usually pretty empty. The bug bivy works great while in the shelters. :)

Venchka
04-10-2014, 22:18
Poncho for rain and tarp for sleep shelter

We had this talk before. What if your rain gear is in tarp mode and you have to out in the rain? Ponchos will make do in a pinch as shelter, but not full time. The Gatewood Cape may be an exception.

Wayne

Sent from somewhere around here.

Venchka
04-11-2014, 08:19
On the other hand...
You could search high and low for a piece of fabric designed and built to provide shelter. Bill Moss's HeptaWing set the standard many moons ago. There are reasonable substitutes on the market today. There is one in my closet at home. It weighs 1 pound 3 ounces with guy lines, stakes & stuff sack. You can't have that one. :D :cool:

HeptaWing on the John Muir Trail...