PDA

View Full Version : campshoes

schultz104
04-17-2014, 00:38
Yes or no? If so whay type?

ChinMusic
04-17-2014, 02:10
I am not a big proponent of camp shoes but I am a proponent of shower shoes. I will use those shower shoes at camp, at the occasional water crossing, and in town.

I have used simple flip flops in the past but have recently purchased some Vivobarefoot Ultra Pures at about 7oz a pair.

HooKooDooKu
04-17-2014, 09:33
I like having a pair of camp shoes so that I don't have to put boots on if nature calls in the middle of the night. But for me, even more importantly is having a pair of shoe to wear for the frequent water crossings I encounter given that my primary hiking is done all over GSMNP and not just the AT where you spend a lot of time on ridge lines (and therefore average fewer water crossings per mile that I do hiking GSMNP).

As for type, one of the smallest, yet still provided protection from rocks and toe jams in water crossings is something like the vivobarefoot ultra pure. However, they are pretty expensive at $60 per pair (note that there is also a vivobarefoot ultra for $85... that's the same shoe but also comes with some sort of sock). I've been able to find something similar at WalMart for about $10.

I used to use Croc knockoffs from WalMart... which are much lighter than original Crocs... but they are more bulky than the vivobarefoot and similar shoes.

[Edit]
The shoe I've found at WalMart looks a lot like this: http://www.walmart.com/ip/MENS-BUMP-TOE-PERFORMANCE-SANDAL/29017544
But the ones I found last year were a little cheaper (I think) and were solid black, and a little lighter in weight than theses look to be.

Terry7
04-17-2014, 09:38
I only carry crocs when I get up to Maine for water river crossings.

slbirdnerd
04-17-2014, 09:59
There is a very recent thread on the same subject. Skechers flip flops for me. Pair: 6 oz, $15.

SunnyWalker
04-17-2014, 10:09