PDA

View Full Version : New to WhiteBlaze - Planning section hike from Springer to Clingmans Dome

SouthernHiker
04-26-2014, 07:21
I'm new to the WhiteBlaze boards, and I'm starting to plan my first section hike with my wife.

We are planning to take the month of June to hike from Amicalola -Springer to Clingman's Dome/Newfound Gap.

This will be our first long distance hiking, and we're both in less than great hiking shape, but plan to do a lot of road miles with full packs and a couple of weekend mountain hikes between now and June to start preparing.
I've lived in Georgia most of my life, and I know the heat in June, so other than that, are there any concerns I should have about hiking this time of year, other than the obvious (dehydration, bear bagging)?

We are planning to start nice and slow for the first couple of weeks with nothing over 8 miles/day. Right now, my "loose plan", though, would have a few 11-12 mile days in the Nantahala section. Is this reasonable after about 3 weeks on the trail? I'm struggling with knowing our possible mileage capabilities a few weeks in.

Any other advice is also very welcome. I look forward to hearing from the experienced hikers, particular any that started out in less than ideal shape.

Bags4266
04-26-2014, 07:31
Well it's hard to say without knowing your physical shape. Best advice is to keep your pack as light as you could. Use hiking poles. Also the average for some people is 2 mph so ten miles is only 5 hours of your day. That's a lot of down time in camp. Unless you are over weight, have a health problem or way out of shape ten miles a day should be no problem, Unless your hiking the whites.

rafe
04-26-2014, 07:40