PDA

View Full Version : Inn to Inn Section Hike

newbie2014
05-09-2014, 14:00
I am in my mid 40's and have been thinking about doing a section of the trail for a few years now. I have never hiked or backpacked before this, so am a total newbie. I have been hitting what few trails there are in Wisconsin, but we are a pretty flat state. A couple of friends (46 & 50 yrs. old) will be joining me and we are looking for any help/advice we can get. We are going to be wimps and try to do an inn to inn hike to start. We will be going the third week in August. We hope to do 5 days and around 60 miles. Is this even realistic? Any help on what state we should be in? Not sure where to start. We are hoping to make this an annual thing, but will actually camp next year as long as we survive this year. Would be happy for any/all advice!

Coffee
05-09-2014, 14:06
I would suggest Shenandoah National Park's central district. Start at Swift Run Gap and hike north to Lewis Mountain where you can reserve a cabin. Hike north to Big Meadows the next day and get a room at the lodge. Then hike north to Skyland and a room at the lodge. Finally, finish the hike by going north from Skyland to Thornton Gap.

The mileage may be a bit lower than what you are looking for but it would work "inn to inn". It is also a very nice hike. Be sure to make reservations, preferably mid week, to avoid crowds.

newbie2014
05-09-2014, 14:18
Thank you so much!

map man
05-09-2014, 15:18
I see you are from Wisconsin. Are you familiar with the Superior Hiking Trail in northern Minnesota? A large group of lodges and inns participate in a lodge-to-lodge program there and here is the relevant link:

http://www.boundarycountry.com/hiking.html

They offer different packages and maybe one will suit you. I can vouch for the fact that the Superior Hiking Trail is a well maintained and beautiful trail.

greenmtnboy
05-09-2014, 15:19