PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone see/used a hammock with a dog?

Ricky&Jack
05-13-2014, 14:41
I have never used a hammock before. Only tents, because I try to hike with my 6mo old Husky, Jack.

I saw a "Skeeter Beeter pro" at a sporting store for only $79. I Think i read it had a 400 lb weight limit. And I want to buy it.

I weigh 240, and full grown my Husky should be 60 or so lbs, so together we would be around 300 lbs.

But the biggest fear of using a hammock would be that his claws etc may tear it (after enough hiking, his claws would self trim themselves down)

Has anyone used a dog in a hammock? Do you think theres a real danger with hanving one in a hammock?

Im thinking he may be able to get used to 'sleeping outside' of the hammock on the ground eventually, but im not sure.

I really like the idea of taking a hammock. But I almost always go with my dog.

Any recommendations or advise?

kayak karl
05-13-2014, 14:54
my lab is 100 lbs now (3 years ago in pic). i have a DIY 12' 1.9 coated nylon hammock without bugnet. some times she sleeps under it on her poncho liner quilt.

Ricky&Jack
05-13-2014, 15:05
that looks awesome.

One of my other worries, is what to do if we do section hikes on the A.T. and it rains for a few straight days...... I would think if we were in a tent, it would be alot easier to both stay dry and could move around so were not just napping and being bored in 1 spot for the whole time.

what do you do for yourself, and your dog if you have several days of rain?

Do you have any personal rules/philosophies such as "if the weather says it will be a big 3 day storm, instead of using the tarp we're just gonna get a motel, etc?"

Im really interested in trying out tarps instead of tents, but am worried a dog would hold that back.

MDSection12
05-13-2014, 15:05