PDA

View Full Version : Sleeping Bag for Nov/Dec

hailstreak
05-18-2014, 10:16
I am currently preparing for an August 1 SOBO hike that I plan to finish by mid December and I am looking for a sleeping bag that would be suitable for Nov/Dec in the South. I have an older 15 degree Slumberjack Aurora bag that I have successfully used at 20 degrees before, but the bag is mammoth in size, heavy, and very difficult to pack, so it's not an option for anything more than a weekend trip. My usual strategy in cold weather is to carry a lighter bag and wear warmer clothes, but I am thinking that I should play it safe and go for a 0-10 degree bag. Could anyone recommend a particular bag? I really don't want to spend more than $150-$200, but I know that this rules out a lot of ultralight bags, and I would really like to keep the weight down. Complicating matters is the fact that I am 6'5" and need a long bag. I will use the bag with a Thermarest. I see a Kelty Cosmic synthetic 0 degree bag for $120 on Campmor that weighs 5 lbs. The down version costs $150 more, but weighs a pound less and stuffs smaller. Any thoughts?

Nick P
05-18-2014, 11:22
I hope to finish my SOBO by Thanksgiving, so this may not apply to you, but I am using a Marmot Hydrogen 30f down to start with, which weighs only 1lb 9ozs, and if the Smokies' weather gods require it, will have my old Kelty 20f synthetic mailed to me; it weighs close to 5 lbs. The marmot inside the kelty should be plenty warm. I am too cheap to buy a large down winter bag, though it's probably the smart thing to do. I bought both used (here and on e-bay) for under $200.

Good luck to you!

bigcranky
05-18-2014, 12:56
I hike a lot in the Southern Appalachians. Early November I can use my ~20F bag and it's great, but by Thanksgiving I need my 5-F rated bag (a Western Mountaineering Antelope.) I'd get a good zero-F rated down bag for late Nov/Dec. It can get pretty cold.

HooKooDooKu
05-18-2014, 14:57