PDA

View Full Version : Cost of food for thru or halfway hikers?

WaxQueen
05-22-2014, 22:12
I'm a newbie!! And I'm wanting to get an idea of what food and water will cost for AT long distance hiking and what methods I can use to save on the moolah! What are even my options? Packing food, wild edibles and restaurants?

Advice much appreciated!!! :)

Spirit Walker
05-22-2014, 22:32
To save on money, spend little time in town. Hostels and motels cost, and the longer you are in town, the more restaurant meals you will eat. If you do a faster hike (i.e. four or five months instead of six) you will spend less money. Don't get caught up in a group that is doing a lot of slackpacking - shuttles cost money, and they tend to eat out more often and do more hostels/motels. Don't start your hike too early. When the weather is really bad, you'll spend more time in town, and you're more likely to hike shelter to shelter, so you'll do shorter days than if you are camping more.

You'll probably do most of your shopping along the way, with possibly a few maildrops. There are some wild edibles, but they supplement your diet, they aren't the bulk of it. i.e. ramps spice up noodles; blueberries, strawberries, blackberries, mulberries etc. are wonderful treats, but limited in duration and calories. You will want to eat at restaurants, because hiking all day every day on a limited diet builds up a very large hunger. It's up to you how often you eat out and where. As I said before, by limiting time in town, you will save money in a lot of different ways. The AT passes near towns every few days, but you don't have to stay over. You can go in, buy some groceries, and get out in one day if you choose. The problem is if your friends want to stay over, it is hard to head out without them. If you smoke, quit before you go. Alcohol also can get expensive, so that's another way to save money.