PDA

View Full Version : How long should your airpad be?

zaichev
05-24-2014, 13:55
I'm 5'8'' and have an neoair xlite for women's. It's size regular. It fits my entire body but it doesn't have any extra room, like my sleeping bag does.

swonut
05-24-2014, 14:26
I have the Neoair Xlite regular and it's too long on most nights. I'm far from an expert, but as a side sleeper, I want something a little wider and not quite as long. I tend to pitch my tent so that the door is downhill and then put my pack on the downhill side to stop the roll and offer some additional insulation when I inevitably roll off the pad. It also took me some time to realize that less air made for a more restful sleep and greater likelihood that I would stay on the pad.

My drill was to air it up, lay on my side and then let air out until I could just feel my hip touch ground. Then, if I thought it was going to be a cold night, then I'd give it one or two more puffs to get the hips back off the ground. I figured it was most comfortable when I was using the full loft of the pad.

Malto
05-24-2014, 15:12
It depends on several factors. A full length will be important if you take the pad into shoulder seasons. But many, including me, use a 2/3rd length pad with my shoes and other stuff under my feet to level them out. So, no single answer. If it works for you from a comfort and insulation standpoint then it works. I used a women's length pad prior to getting my short Xlite. (By the way I use a full length xtherm in the winter and shoulder seasons for the insulation.)

Namtrag
05-24-2014, 16:55
I use a short pad, and augment it with a short section of a z-lite pad that doubles as a kneeling pad/sitting pad. I just lay it at the bottom of my sleeping pad and rest my lower legs on it.

johnnybgood
05-24-2014, 17:09