PDA

View Full Version : November in Vermont - What are you wearing?

ThomClaire
06-01-2014, 15:16
I'm going to a conservation corps in Vermont this season, and will be there until late November. It's obvious that there are a lot of very experienced hikers and backpackers here, which is why I have faith in asking a non-AT question. I will be base-camping, so I'm not too concerned about weight, though I am still paying attention to it.

So, it's November in Vermont, what are you wearing while hiking/working and what are you wearing at camp/resting? I'm 5'7" and 120-130 lbs, so I don't have much insulation of my own.

I don't know the average temperatures during November in Vermont, since I've lived my whole life in South Carolina, so this is mostly directed at anyone (which, for all I know may be a lot of people here) who has a good feel of winter weather in the northeast.

Thanks all. I'm very new to all the outdoor adventures, and very eager.

Patrickjd9
06-01-2014, 17:25
Your gear will both have to stand up to physical work and keep you warm and dry, so some of the very lightweight nylon pants, jackets, and such worn by regular hikers aren't going to hold up well. If you're buying gear, go with somewhat heavier fabrics and boots than you might for just hiking. I've always been very hard on boots when doing trail work.

Fleece jackets do stand up well to abuse. I have a couple of other ideas, but will wait for others to fill in.

peakbagger
06-01-2014, 17:30
Check out Labonvilles on the web. Their insulated cordura plants are a favorite of loggers. The big thing to plan for is layers. When standing around and in the evening it can be real cold but once you get working, you need to be able to get rid of layers. Carhart gear is very durable.

ThomClaire
06-01-2014, 18:15
As of right now, my wardrobe is this (also, the position begins in two weeks, so I'm preparing for warm weather as well) :

Capilene 2, bottoms and crew