PDA

View Full Version : One week hike for beginner hiker

ClutchFan
06-03-2014, 22:12
Hi all, I'm new to overnight hiking, and have only done a few day-hikes in the past (Poke-O-Moonshine in upstate NY a couple of times, the Pinnacle in PA (Blue Mountain) once, Bear Mountain in NY).

I'd like to try a week-long hike along the AT somewhere. I'll be on my own, but would like to bring my dog with me. I read online that Maryland is one of the easier spots, and is about 40 miles. I'm not sure if that would take me a week. If I have extra time I wouldn't mind continuing into PA. I figure I'll hike until it's time to go back to work, and then rent a car and go home.

Anyway I'm just starting my research and thought I'd see if anyone has any advice. Maybe there are better sections to hike?

I'd really enjoy seeing nice views along the way. I don't necessarily need 10,000-foot peaks, just some nice scenery and a small peak here and there would be great.

I'll probably be going in early fall, maybe right around labor day, I suppose it'll be very warm weather at that time.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

ChinMusic
06-03-2014, 22:20
Starting north from Harpers Ferry is pretty tame by AT standards. If you can arrange a ride back to the start, just head north and take it as it comes.

LIhikers
06-04-2014, 00:41
Let me suggest that you hike Pawling, NY to route 17 and then walk into Sloatsburg, NY. That's about 65 miles and you can get to both ends of that route by train and/or bus. Not big miles, which should give you time to travel on the first and last day of your hike.
If you do hike Maryland consider going southbound and spending any extra days exploring Harper's Ferry. There's a lot of history there as well as the ATC office.

Feral Bill
06-04-2014, 10:56
I assume that a dog on th bus or train is problematic. If you can get a dog sitter do the Pawling south hike. It's better to go dog less while learning the ropes anyway.

FarmerChef
06-04-2014, 11:07