PDA

View Full Version : Newbie-winter gear?

tville_hiker
09-28-2005, 22:39
i'm pretty new to hiking, only done some minor hiking around the lake here because there isnt anywhere else to hike and i dont have a car

but my bro and i are planning a hike in december on the AT(he's a marine and will hopefully get 18 days of leave in early december..we are taking 10 of that to hike about 150 miles of the AT)

any tips on what gear we will need?
i have the basics like pack, tent, sleeping bag, and clothes on my list

but can anyone recommend some other stuff that is essential? i dont want to forget anything

and whats a good stove to have?

C-Stepper
09-29-2005, 08:48
http://www.backpacking.net

Down the left side of the page, gear lists for all sorts of stuff. Have fun planning (and buying!)

chris
09-29-2005, 09:58
For winter trips, I would get one of the new MSR XGK stoves. If you want something less burly and you're not planning to travel internationally, the MSR Whisperlite is golden for cold weather activities. If you're going to be in places where the temps will be freezing, but no worse, then a Snowpeak Gigapower cannister stove is an excellent model.

verber
09-29-2005, 11:44
There are lots of good gear lists on the web. I keep links to some of them at:
http://www.verber.com/mark/outdoors/gear/gear-lists.html

The one item I would stress for wintertime is a good, warm pad. Your body weight will crush the insulation under your sleeping bag making it inefficent as keeping your warm, so bring a pad.