PDA

View Full Version : Military Sleep System, could it work?

AfghanVet
06-09-2014, 13:31
So, as a veteran, I have a complete military sleep system. It consists of all three sleep layers (though I'm lacking the compression sack, I could find a suitable alternative.) The lightest layer of the bag is rated at 30 degrees, if you add the mid-weight it rates to -10 and with all three rates to -30. The problem is the whole shebang weighs 12 pounds which is clearly too much for my pack but let's assume I get by with the lightweight system only. Do you think this is a suitable alternative to the expensive sleeping bags? I'm not sure of the individual layer weights though.

Tipi Walter
06-09-2014, 13:45
I used several military sleeping systems over the years and used the system you mention a couple times as warmth layers on different trips, and for others joining me. Remember the old Army feather bag with the brass zipper up the middle? We were dirtbagging it back in the early 1980's and the feather bag was the cheap bag of choice. Then the Army came out with the sleeping system of 3 bags sandwiched together.

For your system, all you can do is whip it out and try it in the backyard night by night. I've been known to carry too much weight but I'd never carry a 12lb system for winter when I can go to 0F or below with a good goose down 3.5lb bag. Costly, of course. But if you can't afford a good bag you can carry something else but it comes at the cost of weight and bulk. With enough weight and bulk a person can stay warm at -20F, he just has to carry it.

http://tipiwalter.smugmug.com/BooneYears/Pisgah-Upper-Creek/i-Z4W4hjG/0/M/Johnny%20B%20in%20celo%20during%20a%20cold%20winte r%20night%20smaller%20%2091-M.jpg
Here's my buddy Johnny Be pulling a butt cold night in a friend's unheated house in Celo, NC, circa 1985. Caught him napping. We had a layover on our way into the Wilson Creek area of Pisgah NF. He's using the aforementioned Army feather bag.

AfghanVet