PDA

View Full Version : New to Hiking need advice!

Dreaoutside
06-10-2014, 17:15
Hi I'm new to hiking and I was recently struck with the idea that I would really like to get more involved in nature, this forum seems like a great place to start learning and I'd eventually like to plan to start hiking. Some sections of the AT . I live in buffalo NY are there any parts of the AT that would be a good place to hike in a few miles camp for a night and then hike back the next day.

Entrance points, trails, and tips all extremely helpful !!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Ricky&Jack
06-10-2014, 17:38
you don't need to drive across the state just to do the A.T.

theres a few other trails a lot closer.

I know that doesn't answer your question, but if you haven't really had experience, then I wouldn't waste a drive that far. You can find some fun trails a lot closer, and then if you like those enough, I would make it a weekend to go to the A.T.

But there are trails closer that would be as much fun.

Ricky&Jack
06-10-2014, 17:39
sorry that picture sucks.

this link would help more than the pic.

http://www.traildino.com/trace/continents-North_America/countries-United_States#Map

RED-DOG
06-10-2014, 18:32
:welcome to WB, Have Fun and Enjoy.

Dreaoutside
06-11-2014, 10:29
Thank you so much! I'll definitely try some closer hikes first to prepare!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Jake2c
06-11-2014, 12:46
Welcome to the forum. I also started hiking recently, about 3 years ago. One thing I gained a lot from was that I would go to a very local though small area with trails that also offered remote camping. This way I tried out gear, figured out what worked and didn't but had an "escape" plan, so to speak, in case I made a really bad choice and ended up cold and wet one night. After that I went to the AT and hiked longer sections. Most here are more experienced than me, but it helped me learn a lot of lessons painlessly.

FL Grandma
06-13-2014, 19:11