PDA

View Full Version : Another Ion question...

Patrick
09-30-2005, 12:04
I posted briefly about this in another thread, but I don't know if anyone will have read down far enough to see it, so thought it would be okay in its own thread.

I build an Ion stove last night. Everything seems to be to spec, but it doesn't work like I expected. The problem is that the flame only comes out of the big hole, not the burners. In thinking about this, I actually can't figure out why it would happen any other way. If I'm not mistaken, the big hole is meant only for filling and the flames are meant to come out of the burner holes only. Is that right? If so, I can't see why it would happen. I'm no fire expert, but it seems like it would take the path of least resistance, which would certainly be the large hole right in the middle.

I have the large 1" hole in the middle of the lid surrounded by twelve 1/16" holes evenly spaced around it. The only thing different for mine is that I didn't make the ti-pod (didn't want to make the stand before testing the stove). I used four wedding tins to support my pot over the stove. The tins don't get near the stove, so they're not interfering with the flame. Also, the bottom of the pot is at about the same height over the burner as it would be on the ti-pod (5/8", I think).

I'm doing it with the lights off, so it's not a question of not seeing the flames. I tried it with 1/2 ounce of fuel and with a full ounce, letting it burn through all of it in each case. I tested with a pot supported over it and with just the stove. None of it seems to make a difference.

What am I doing or thinking wrong here?

jlb2012
09-30-2005, 13:02
try the pot closer to the burner - the Ion depends on being fairly close to the pot before the jets start working

Patrick
09-30-2005, 14:52
try the pot closer to the burner - the Ion depends on being fairly close to the pot before the jets start working
Excellent, thank you. I'll try that tonight.

Seeker