PDA

View Full Version : Trip Report: Northern CT, June 21-22

Likeapuma
06-23-2014, 10:27
Just a report from this past weekend. It's my first attempt, hope it's not terrible!

We started out on Rising Corner Rd. in Southwick, MA with hopes of making Heublein Tower the following day.

Day #1: Thanks to the website, we realized that the first 3 miles, that were originally a road walk, had been relocated to the woods! The parking was simple & easy, with the homeowner across the street coming over & pointing us in the right direction & giving us some trail conditions. Nice to see people so friendly about a trail going through their backyard!

We started a bit late (1015), & with the addition of the 3 miles, weren't sure we'd make it to the Farmington River overlook by dinner. All relatively slow movers who don't get out often! Either way, the walking was very enjoyable with lots of ridgewalks & views through trees. The CT Walk book was pretty accurate with its mileage & overlook locations, so that's a plus! It was nice taking lunch at one where we could see Heublein Tower in the distance, though it looked too far away to get to! We ended up getting in the 14 miles to the view over the Farmington. Be warned, it looks to be a party spot for the locals, beer bottles & glass. We had no issues with the 3 other folks that showed up, & there is plenty of space for tents. Enjoyed a sunset dinner & a cigar & called it a night!