PDA

View Full Version : REI Yosemity 75 Pack

AO2134
06-27-2014, 16:39
Hey guys. This is the pack I plan to buy for upcoming section hikes next year. Any use it? Any alternative recommendations? I am on the budget and REI sales reps suggested this for my budget.

Any thoughts would help! Thanks!

Ricky&Jack
06-27-2014, 18:15
I have no knowledge of the pack.... But just a heads up. It's spelled' YOSEMITE'.

Here it is: http://www.rei.com/product/862870/rei-yosemite-75-pack

Looking at the site, only the medium is 75.... the large is 80. Both are the SAME price.

This is my pack. Teton Outfitter 4600. It's the only pack I have experience in. but I love it, and it was only $92
http://www.tetonsports.com/Backpacks/UltraLight/Outfitter4600.htm#.U63tJKjTwzZ

The one you mentioned DOES look pretty great though.

2 tips tho:
1.... Lookup different video reviews on youtube for specific packs... (You can see how they look on a person, their features, and hear reviews)
2.... Try on packs on stores before buying. (But If you can find it cheaper online, you can order it online. But make sure in store that you like it)

Ricky&Jack
06-27-2014, 18:17
Also, when you go to Mountain Outfitters in the next few weeks or so, check out their selection. They are the professionals. Probably know more about packs than all the REI employees.

Venchka
06-27-2014, 18:24
Unless all of your gear is bulky and huge, you should be able to section hike with the Flash 62 on sale at the REI Outlet...

http://www.rei.com/product/863029/rei-flash-62-pack-mens-special-buy

A friend has the Flash 62. His gear isn't UL or Ultra small. He can get everything he needs short of winter gear in the Flash 62.

The last time I looked, Boreas was having a sale. The Lost Coast 60 is light weight and budget friendly. Depending on your size, you might find a deal. Look at all colors to find your size. If you know your torso length.

http://www.boreasgear.com/collections/packs

Wayne

Venchka
06-27-2014, 18:27