PDA

View Full Version : Foothills Trail, SC

AO2134
07-10-2014, 11:49
I just ordered my Foothills trail guidebook and pocket map. I hear it is a really nice 77 mile trail with lots of waterfalls. I am planning on doing this hike in 2 sections later this year. Not set date yet. I will post trip reports here. I am new to overnight, section hiking. This may be the first or second section/overnight hike I have ever taken. I also plan to do Springer Mt to Deep Gap, NC AT section over labor day weekend.

If you would like to join either, please let me know.

Mobius
07-10-2014, 12:08
It's a wonderful trail. I'm not sure if I posted both trip reports here or not. I've thru hiked it in both the winter (Dec 2013, solo) and spring (May 2014, small group). Both hikes were fantastic and very different from each other. I suspect I'll get a summer and fall hike in sometime in the future. We tacked on the Eastatoe Gorge spur in May as well as the spur to the Lower Whitewater Falls pushing the total mileage into the low 80's.

AO2134
07-10-2014, 17:00
Thanks for the knowledge. I can't wait to get my hands on the guide book and really look at what sections to do! I am exclusively a weekend hiker so I can only hike all day Saturday and most of Sunday so that means I will have to do is in 2-3 sections. I also want to do the nearby Raven Cliff Falls while I am there.

I am pretty sure I am going NOBO.

Any recommendation between NOBO and SOBO? Any other general recommendations for the area?

If you decide to do a section through hike, let me know and I may join for a section.

Grits
07-10-2014, 22:45
[QUOTE=AO2134;1892630
Any recommendation between NOBO and SOBO? Any other general recommendations for the area?

If you decide to do a section through hike, let me know and I may join for a section.[/QUOTE]

Park at Table Rock and get a shuttle to Oconee and enjoy a great hike.

dmax
07-11-2014, 10:47