PDA

View Full Version : Tarptent in rain and snow, and durability?

ShelterLeopard
07-16-2014, 15:29
Hey y'all! I'm looking to buy a new tent for a PCT and an AT thru, so I need something that'll last for a while, and will be good in rain and in snow. How do the tarptents (specifically the two p's, but also the one p's) hold up? They look awesome but I've never used one before. Any advice is appreciated!

ShelterLeopard
07-16-2014, 15:29
(I'm asking because they look almost too good to be true)

Mobius
07-16-2014, 16:18
I've set up, slept, and packed up a Stratospire 2 in the rain. I stayed dry all night (or rather, didn't get any wetter than I already was). Putting wet clothes back on and going back out in the rain made me cranky but that's not the tents fault.

I've never had it in falling snow to answer that bit.

Gambit McCrae
07-16-2014, 16:23
I've set up, slept, and packed up a Stratospire 2 in the rain. I stayed dry all night (or rather, didn't get any wetter than I already was). Putting wet clothes back on and going back out in the rain made me cranky but that's not the tents fault.

I've never had it in falling snow to answer that bit.

I concure with the same tent. As well have had it in snow, did great. declining temps to of course shrink the guylines? so you have to tighten them right before bed to make it super tight again, but not a must do kind of thing. I suggest seam sealing it yoruself instead of getting them to do it. No reason thats just what I did

Venchka
07-16-2014, 17:45
Thanks folks. The SS 2 is looking better and better for Solo and Duo use every time I hear from happy owners. Pitching in the rain is something very few people understand. TT and Hilleberg have the advantage over body first tent pitching.

Wayne

Sent from somewhere around here.

garlic08
07-16-2014, 21:04