PDA

View Full Version : New Appalachian Trail Board Game

MHanf
07-27-2014, 11:29
http://at-thru-hike.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/AT-Thru-Hike-Banner-Hikers.jpg

My name is Mark Hanf and I am the designer of a new AT-themed board game designed for families, classrooms, scouts and more that teaches best practices while on the trail. (Low impact camping, backpacking skills, first aid, Plant and Animal ID, etc.)

I am a teacher, parent, educational game designer, Eagle Scout, and avid hiker. I've been working on this project for the last two years with an amazing team and we are excited to announce that it is now available on Kickstarter.com! Check out the video. The outtakes at the end are funny! :)

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/77420923/thru-hike-the-appalachian-trail-game

The inspiration for this game came when I was on a solo from Max Patch to Hot Springs. I went to the trail for some personal direction as I was working through a difficult time in my life. Hiking, as you know, is good medicine! I came across a shelter that had been completely trashed by a grandmother and grandson on the trail. They were obviously novice hikers, but it was hard not to be frustrated by watching them burn plastic, throw food in the woods, and leave trash all over the shelter. The woman was injured so I helped her arrange medical support at the next road crossing and then bagged up all their trash and packed it out. As I was walking I realized that I took for granted all the No Trace Camping ethics that I was taught in Boy Scouts. Not everyone is lucky enough to have great teachers as a kid and I couldn't really get mad with someone who doesn't know better.