PDA

View Full Version : Keeping Warm questions...

Bassline
10-08-2005, 18:06
Hey guys, I did a 1200 mile or so section hike this year. It was supposed to be a thru-hike, but things happened that cause me to have to get off. Such is life. The good news is that I have the opportunity to get back out there next year and finish what I started. I have a 30 degree Mountain Hardwear Synthetic Sleeping bag. It has taken a beating, but I am doing this on a budged, and I would much rather have more money to spend on the trail than a shiny new Western Mountaineering sleeping bag (I gotta keep telling myself that). I also have a full set of light weight and midweight poly-pro thermal underwear set, a tech tee, a fleece, a rain jacket (marmot precip) and REI ultralight Rain Pants. I have a light fleece at the moment too. That, combnined witha pair of shorts, a skirt, a hat and gloves are all my hiking clothes. I use a combination of them at different times...

Now, to questions...

It was a cold year this year, and my sleeping bag isnt getting any warmer. I want to do my best not to hvae to replace it, and at the same time, I want to stay warm. I did not stay warm this year like I would have liked to. I am looking for a fix, some items that would set me back no more than 150 dollars. Maybe something like a Puffball Jacket to replace the fleece, or a down vest. Money and weight are the big issues though. Any advice? Also,feel free to ask questions as I narrow this list down. I know this is a bit more complicated than it needs to be. It is all good.

Bassline

Alligator
10-08-2005, 19:38
What are your future plans? When/where do you plan on hiking?

Bassline
10-08-2005, 21:05
Gotcha, I knew I forgot that. I am going from PA to ME starting probably in late May, after Trail Days.

Alligator
10-08-2005, 21:42