PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed on stuff sacks

Tprunty8
08-14-2014, 15:43
I'm just starting out here, looking to section hike the AT the next couple of summers, aiming to thru hike when I retire in 4 years. I have been slowly accumulating my gear and now need bags to store stuff. Not sure what sizes I need, a food bag, couple of clothing/gear bags? Suggestions appreciated.

fadedsun
08-14-2014, 16:06
You'll get a lot of different opinions on stuffsacks and how many you should carry.

My best advice is that one sold be a mesh bag of the sort that the ladies use to machine-wash their delicates. It's lightweight, inexpensive, works well as a stuffsack and works well in town when sharing a washing machine.

Good luck with your hikes.

About_Time
08-14-2014, 17:28
My stuff bag for extra clothes doubled as a pillow, so you may want to consider that possibility as you research number and sizes.

HooKooDooKu
08-14-2014, 22:35
Rather than a stuff sack for my cloths, I use a scentless trash compactor bag as a pack liner and keep everything that needs to stay dry in the liner.

Otherwise, I use:

1. Stuff sack for general gear (flashlight, batteries, pocket knife, extra cordage, etc).
2. Stuff sack for toilet use (TP, trowel, hand sanitizer).
3. Stuff sack for other toiletries (tooth brush, contact solution, comb, extra glasses, toothpaste, insect repellant, sun screen).
4. Stuff sack for my 1st Aid Kit.
5. Mesh bag for kitchen stuff (spoon, wash rag, soap).

The Ace
08-14-2014, 22:51
Here is what I use:
1) Food: Zpacks cuben fiber roll top “Blast” food bag
2) Clothes: Zpacks cuben fiber medium dry bag
3) Cooking: Zpacks MSR .85 Titan Pot cooking pot stuff sack
4) Tent stakes: Zpacks Cuben Fiber Stake Sack
5) Ditty bag for personal stuff: Zpacks small stuff sack
Total weight on all of the above is 2.1 ounces.
I use a Zpacks cuben fiber medium backpack cover – mine weighs 0.9 ounces.