PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading some gear

Ender
08-22-2014, 11:13
Got a small bonus here at work, going to spend it on, of course, new gear that I only use a couple times a year (at most... sigh).

I'm looking at the ZPacks Arc Blast backpack. I currently have an Osprey Atmos 50, which I love to death because of the venting back panel. I simply can't make myself go back to a solid-backed pack at this point, I've become spoiled. But at over 3 pounds, it's heavier than I'd like. And the Arc Blast, at just over 1 pound would save me 2 pounds off my back. That's a pretty fantastic weight savings for a single piece of gear, and I can't really think of a reason not to do that. The reviews of the Arc I've read so far have been good, though I haven't yet found a long-term review of the thing.

Also looking at a new tent. I've been hammocking for about 10 years now, and frankly am kind of tired of it and want to tent again. My last few trips I've just used a tarp, which was light, but buggy. So then I went to using my old Sierra Designs Clip Flashlight that I used for my AT thru back in '98. The thing is great, still works like a champ, but is over 5 pounds all-in. Soooo... looking at the Big Agnus Fly Creek UL2, which is a shade over 2 pounds, is free standing, and is double-wall (which, having used single wall shelters over the years, I'm pretty much set on using double-wall now). Nice. I've also looked at a cuben Lightheart Solo Awning, but she doesn't seem to be making the cuben tents right now (which I seem to remember that she often didn't during the summer months). It's a little lighter, from what I recall, also double wall, not free standing, and a boatload more expensive. Any thoughts on these two tents?

Anyway, that's my Friday morning musings, as I paw through gear websites.

Gambit McCrae
08-22-2014, 11:25
Got a small bonus here at work, going to spend it on, of course, new gear that I only use a couple times a year (at most... sigh).