PDA

View Full Version : Maryland Hikers

DJ Potatoe
10-10-2005, 00:15
My friend Mason and I are hittin' the MD portion from Mason/Dixon (or in our case, the Mason/Eric) line to Harpers Ferry in a 2 day venture. We're going over night from October 25 to the 26th. Anyways, it's a 42 mile charge and we're told via the magical internet that it's a "damn near impossible" venture for only 2 days.

I'm BRAND new to the AT scene, but I'm sure I'm gonna love it. Mason has done the VA section before (Shannandoah Valley) and has a bit of experience in hiking 'round the woods. Anyways, this is all leading to a question, I promise.

The question is: What recomendations would someone make to a dynamic duo taking on MD in 2 days? I'll take any and all suggestions anyone might have. Thanks in advance for the hell, you kooky trail people, you. ;-)

xoxo
Love Eric

lobster
10-10-2005, 01:35
Some folks hike it in 1 day, but they are in fine shape by that point.

bearbait2k4
10-10-2005, 02:42
Exactly. It's an easy venture, if you're in shape.

That is one portion of the trail that can legitimately be called practicaly flat.

However, it wouldn't be a bad idea to have a couple of bail-out points in mind, if you decide this is what you want to do. I think there are quite a few road crossings within that section, mainly at different monuments or recreation areas, so it would be possible to get a ride if you have to.

Good luck.

Goon
10-10-2005, 11:12
A friend and I did this same section in 3 fairly easy days. The main issue we had is that you're required in MD to stay in designated camping areas so that made us stop short one day, not knowing if we'd make the next camping area before dark.

lobster
10-10-2005, 11:33
Camp out of sight.

D'Artagnan
10-10-2005, 12:17
It may seem obvious, but wear comfortable shoes. Best of luck.

Newb
10-10-2005, 12:20