PDA

View Full Version : Hiking with BF(future husband) for first long hike

Different Socks
08-27-2014, 12:56
what should I expect?

We will be thru hiking the Ice Age Trial and I'm new to this. Have great enthusiasm, but also the usual doubts. Other than what he has told me so far, is here anything, especially the female hikers out here, that you can tell me?

Mags
08-27-2014, 13:12
how much previous backpacking experience does your partner have?

Is this first long hike period? First backpacking trip? Or first long trip being done with a significant other for both of you?

That could make a difference.

If the person is new to backpacking, weekend trips to iron out gear and hiking style issues is probably an excellent idea. I know for my wife and I, it took us a while to get our system dialed in..and we are still working on it. :) She had previous backpacking trips under her belt, too.

If we had done a long hike together, AS OUR FIRST TRIP, much hilarity would happen. :O

Different Socks
08-27-2014, 13:17
how much previous backpacking experience does your partner have? 1000s of miles and several long hikes, some of which were thru hikes.

Is this first long hike period? First backpacking trip? Or first long trip being done with a significant other for both of you? Yes, Kindofsortof, yes.

Gambit McCrae
08-27-2014, 13:19
A thru can be whatever you make it, just like any other hike. You can mot of the time make it as comfortable as you want it to be. If its rainging, you can take a zero, you can walk 25 miles a day, its really up to you what you make it. Rain, heat, humidity, too much food, not enough food too much food, mice, snow...imagine what the conditions are like outside for 24/7 1200 miles work which could be between 60-120 days of hiking, and put yorself in those conditions.

BCPete
08-27-2014, 13:20
Whatever you do ... make sure you will be warm at all temps you expect - and then some!