PDA

View Full Version : Sleeping bag + temperature question

Chrysalis14
09-26-2014, 02:26
I haven't been able to find an answer yet, but I'm wondering why, when I have a 20 degree down bag, that I still freeze even when the temp outside is well above 40 -45 degrees? I'm considering getting a bag liner to add warmth but how can a bag claim to have that temperature rating if it doesn't work?

rafe
09-26-2014, 05:25
I haven't been able to find an answer yet, but I'm wondering why, when I have a 20 degree down bag, that I still freeze even when the temp outside is well above 40 -45 degrees? I'm considering getting a bag liner to add warmth but how can a bag claim to have that temperature rating if it doesn't work?

I presume you have a mattress pad of some sort, under the bag?

rocketsocks
09-26-2014, 05:41
Are eating something before bed...your bag can only preserve the heat it has to work with. I like Walkers short bread cookies before bed, 31% butter if you can find them, not real great for the heart, but mighty tasty and fuels the furnace.

PD230SOI
09-26-2014, 05:50
Temp ratings assume you are in a tent and on a pad. I find the pad more important than the tent.

are you wearing lots of clothes and cutting off circulation?
are you swimming in the bag and unable to heat it up?
is it a bag by a known company?

rocketsocks
09-26-2014, 06:13
Are eating something before bed...your bag can only preserve the heat it has to work with. I like Walkers short bread cookies before bed, 31% butter if you can find them, not real great for the heart, but mighty tasty and fuels the furnace.Hiked with a young lady once who used to live in Alaska, and she said they used to eat bear fat before retiring, keep ya warm all night long.

garlic08
09-26-2014, 08:50
Look for an "EN 13537" rating. If it doesn't say those magic words, it may be a guess at best, marketing hype at worst. Good tips above about bag fit, clothing constriction, diet, and health.

saltysack
09-26-2014, 08:55