PDA

View Full Version : 100 Mile Section Hike / advice needed

Footprint
09-26-2014, 14:50
Hello WB:

I am a newbie as a newbie gets with regard to the AT. I hike all the time in SW Ohio. MY specific question is if I wanted to do 100 mile section hike what would be an easier section traveling south to north and which is closest to Cincinnati, Ohio.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Once I can get that basic info, I can start planning my trip next (late) spring and get shuttles etc. in the works.

Thank to all,

Footprint

bigcranky
09-26-2014, 15:17
When do you want to go? That's something of an important question :) Also, how long do you want this to take?

From Cincinnati you can get to anywhere along the Southern AT in about the same amount of time. The traditional answer would be to hike from Springer northbound for 100 miles (approximately to Franklin, TN,) which is a great hike, especially in spring. You could hike the ~80 miles from Damascus to Atkins in Virginia, also nice in both spring and fall. There are plenty of good 10 day sections out there.

Footprint
09-26-2014, 15:30
Hello Big Cranky. I am looking at right around mid May 2015. I have 14 days slotted (drive time / hike time / drive back.) Its about 8 miles a day. My thought is that the 8 miles a day would give me time to "stop and smell the roses" and take my time to enjoy every bit of my hike. Thank you for the starting points for me to work from.

saltysack
09-26-2014, 15:42
When do you want to go? That's something of an important question :) Also, how long do you want this to take?

From Cincinnati you can get to anywhere along the Southern AT in about the same amount of time. The traditional answer would be to hike from Springer northbound for 100 miles (approximately to Franklin, TN,) which is a great hike, especially in spring. You could hike the ~80 miles from Damascus to Atkins in Virginia, also nice in both spring and fall. There are plenty of good 10 day sections out there.