PDA

View Full Version : Quilts vs Sleeping bags HELLLLPP!!!

Second Hand
09-28-2014, 10:43
Hello,
I’m currently a graduate student in a Marketing class and an avid backpacker. The class is focused around inventing a product, defining the market and putting together a plan to successfully launch that product.
The product I created was an adaptation of a Water resistant Down Quilt. I have struggled to determine the size of the quilt market and how much it has penetrated traditional sleeping bags among the backpacking community. My assumption is quilts represent about 1% of the sleep systems among backpackers against roughly 99% for sleeping bags, but I need some type of tangible evidence to prove this.
And this is why I’m turning to the WhiteBlaze community. I’m hoping to conduct a survey that answers the simple question, do you use quilts or sleeping bags?? I understand the Whiteblaze community probably has a higher penetration of Quilt users than any other backpacking community, so I would encourage you to expand the analysis to not only yourself, but others you frequently backpack with.
For example, if you lead a Boy Scout troop of the 12 Scouts do any use quilts? If you hike with a consistent group of friends do any use quilts?
Of course, this project is due today. The reason for my procrastination is one I imagine many of you can relate to. I was backpacking a 60 mile stretch of the LT earlier this week and I had to travel work mid-week… And I watched a Breaking Bad Marathon until 2AM last night, but that’s neither here nor there!
I really thank anyone who participates in this very survey!

Dogwood
09-28-2014, 13:32