PDA

View Full Version : Trails in New Hampshire's White Mountains are they rocky, harder than 10+ years ago?

DavidNH
09-29-2014, 08:27
I've been hiking off and on in the Whites for a couple decades, though less so since my 06 thru hike. I don't know if it's just me or if it's that I'm not in the hiking shape I was during and prior to the 06 thru hike. Or maybe one can't do at age of 51 that he could in his 30's. But these trails are harder than ever. For example.. this past weekend I hiked the Webster-Jackson Trail from route 302 to the top of Mt Jackson (4052 feet). 5 mile round trip. Felt like I negotiated a boulder field much of the way up and the last .02 mile or so I had to haul up what seemed like small cliffs than hike up very steep ledge to the top. back down I was wiped.. the following day my body felt stiff all over. SO all in all.. four hours up, 3 hours down, half hour on top and 4 hours of driving. yeah.. long day.

So white mountains regulars.. is it age, conditioning, or are these trails really getting harder? I have to say it takes some of the fun out of the hike.. worrying more about "getting there" than enjoying the moment, and I am very much an enjoy the moment type of person! Any of you have hiking experiences like this where a familiar trail is way harder than you remember it?

peakbagger
09-29-2014, 13:40