PDA

View Full Version : Trees and Views From the AT, and PCT

diondublin
09-30-2014, 10:03
Complete newbie questions here, so apologies for that.

I have always associated leisure walking (mostly here in England) with great views; i.e. the great views are pretty essential for the enjoyment of the walk. However, I am aware that there is a great deal of forestry on the AT, and had some questions:

1) What percentage of the AT is through forestry, with views limited basically to nearby trees. What are the longest stretches where little but nearby trees will be seen and how long are they?

2) Is it the case that the way the AT happens to fall can be particularly demoralising to a thru hiker south-to-north as good views give way to the lesser excitement of lots of forestry?

3) Is north-to-south better for the spirit, as it were, with an improved order of 'excess tree stress'? Also what is the effect of the other difficulties of the northern end on the 'spirit'?

4) What states/sections are the very best and very worst for views?

5) It seems from cursory research that the Pacific Crest Trail would be better for a hiker who preferred a lot of more 'open' conditions (less forestry). However, is this actually the case in practice? Also, how difficult can the conditions be on the PCT for heat and humidity and other environmental issues? I imagine that humidity would be less of a problem than the AT but would love some advice from those who have real experience.

Thanks very much for any help, opinion and advice.

Adrian

rafe
09-30-2014, 10:27
If you live for views, do the PCT. The AT has its share, but they don't happen every day, that's for sure.

I don't believe the direction of travel has any impact.