PDA

View Full Version : Planning my first (annual) AT Section Hike

WesArnold
10-09-2014, 10:13
So a little history on myself: I'm 30 y/o. I'm a hammock-backpacker. I've been backpacking around home for about 3 years - doing hammock-camping for almost a year. I've thought about it and studied the AT on and off for the past year and have decided that March 2015 I'm going to do my first week long leg of the AT. My 20 y/o nephew who often goes backpacking w/ me will be going too.

I'm wondering if any of you guys who have done this may have any words of wisdom or links to gear you didn't have but wish you would have had; route recommendations, places to see, places to stop, etc. Really just looking for anything that might aid me in pulling this trip off without a hitch.

Over the next few weeks and months I'll be getting my gear all together in a list with weights and what-not for you guys to look at (and tell me how awful my kit is...lol) I've never weighed everything all out like that before - mostly because I've only ever done 2 night trips. I'm not "super-ultra-light" but I consider myself a light-weight hiker. I'm figuring that 6-7 days of hiking will be much different than a half day on day one, 1 whole day on day 2, and the half a day on day 3 - as my weekend trips are accustomed to being.

If you guys wanna see some pics from past adventures I've been on check out my extremely amateur blog: adventureempires.blogspot.com

I'm OCD about starting at the beginning and ending at the end. So I'll be going Northbound starting at Springer Mountain. Right now I'm up in the air about choosing the stopping point. Both Unicoi Gap and Dicks Creek Gap have been mentioned as good stopping points depending on the mileage I can do per day.

Any thoughts? Suggestions? Looking forward to this!

rafe
10-09-2014, 10:35
Best of luck to you. It's a grand adventure.

Odd Man Out
10-09-2014, 11:22