PDA

View Full Version : Cotton shirt for summer?

Gnomad
10-11-2014, 20:44
I am in the very early stages of dreaming. I am a teacher and am thinking of hiking for 2 summers in a row. Mid June- mid aug. Given that heat will be more an issue than cold, would it make sense to have a lightweight cotton tee to soak through and use for evaporative cooling?

Feral Bill
10-11-2014, 20:56
Yes, it would make good sense. A nice, all cotton, long sleeved dress shirt is good too, for sun and bugs.

brian039
10-11-2014, 23:24
You won't get much evaporative cooling with the humidity in the summer and cotton won't dry overnight like a synthetic. You'll be putting on a sweat soaked shirt every morning.

Traveler
10-12-2014, 06:27
You didn't say where you'll be hiking. If in desert environments, cotton would work well and would work pretty well for evaporative cooling. At that time of year on the AT, cotton will saturate pretty quickly but due to the relative humidity won't be that good for evaporative cooling and as Brian points out won't dry well overnight as a rule. Cotton also gets heavier when its wet if thats a consideration.

If you are looking for evaporative cooling, you may want to look at neck coolers that have polymer crystals in them. Wet the neck cooler and put it on, water is slowly released to provide a cooling action it cools. These work pretty well actually.

fiddlehead
10-12-2014, 07:11
As a former thru-hiker, who swore never to wear cotton on the trail, I now spend much of my time in Thailand where it is hot and humid. (400 miles north of the equator)
I wouldn't think of wearing poly-anything when hiking, jogging, tennis, etc.

It's cotton when it's hot for me.
The softer and better quality cotton----the better.

garlic08
10-12-2014, 08:13