PDA

View Full Version : Shoes

jimyjam
10-19-2014, 13:45
What are some good name brand and type of shoes to wear for a thru hike? Water Proof vs Mesh? I have read many opinions and was hoping to hear from some people who have thru hikes the AT. One common opinion seems to be to NOT wear hiking boots of any kind. Thanks in advance...All info is appreciated!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Woof Shaven
10-19-2014, 19:50
Yes, I agree on the common opinion. I have heard that advice from PCT/JMT bloggers and also from within this WhiteBlaze news group.

I have no practical experience trekking. I may cave into the prevailing advice (peer pressure?). However my pre-this-advice research led me down the road to what Uncle Sam was currently issuing to his combat troops in the mountains. I picked up a new pair those boots for $75.00 on EBAY. They were new in the box. These boots can still be purchased retail in the $300 range if you wish to go that route.

The company is Belleville and this American company has been making boots for Uncle Sam since WWI. The current contract for mountain combat boots comes in to varieties: Belleville MCB 950 (all weather) and Belleville MCB 990 (hot weather).

My MCB 950s are very light. I don't consider them heavy. I like them a lot. I may bring them along on my section hike and disregard the prevailing advice.

trw0007
10-23-2014, 01:58