PDA

View Full Version : AT Healthcare Research Project - Help!

HillMedic
11-01-2014, 16:52
Hi. I am a long time casual reader of this forum, never a poster. I love the AT and do some section hikes as time allows. My hometown is Kingsport, TN, just north of Erwin.

I am a Doctor of Nursing Practice Student. Hopefully this forum can help me with my doctoral project. I am strongly considering investigating access to healthcare of AT thru hikers/long distance hikers. Other than some conversation with friends, this is the first time I have attempted to gain information straight from hikers.

At this point, I just want to see if there is a problem that I can investigate. It seems that nothing like this has been done before. Can you help me get a general idea of the need for healthcare on the trail? How many thru hikers have to come off trail for formal care? How many need formal care but don't get it because of difficulty of access? How many drop out because of injury or illness? Is this even a legit project for me? Would I have a solid number of thru hikers who would agree to let me track their progress?

Please help me get started so I can spend time with the 2015 class instead of switching topics and crunching numbers in an office somewhere! Thanks a ton.

swonut
11-01-2014, 17:42